Directors and management

Michael Wade

Executive Chairman

Michael has had an extensive career at Lloyd’s working across broking, underwriting, capital markets and insurance linked securities. Michael formed one of the first Lloyd’s corporate capital vehicles in 1993, CLM Insurance Fund plc, and later acted for UK pension funds via Rostrum Group investing in listed Lloyd’s firms. He has served on the Council and Committee of Lloyd’s and was formerly a senior adviser to the Cabinet Office. Currently, Michael is also a Senior Advisor to Mitsui Sumitomo Insurance. He was appointed Executive Chairman in June 2024.

  • Nomination and remuneration committee

Nigel Hanbury

Non-Executive Deputy Chairman

Nigel was temporarily appointed Non-Executive Deputy Chairman in June 2024, to ensure the smooth transition to a new CEO. Nigel was appointed Executive Deputy Chairman in April 2023 after stepping down as CEO, a position which he had filled since October 2012. He joined Lloyd’s in 1979 as an external member and became a Lloyd’s broker in 1982. He later moved to the members’ Agency side, latterly becoming Chief Executive and then Chairman of Hampden Agencies Limited. He serves on the board of the Association of Lloyd’s Members and was elected to the Council of Lloyd’s for the “Working Names” constituency, serving on that body between 1999 and 2001 and then 2005 to 2008, as well as participating on the Market Board and other Lloyd’s committees.

In December 2009 he ceased being Chairman of Hampden. Nigel and/or his direct family underwrite at Lloyd’s through two LLVs.

Arthur Manners

Finance Director

Arthur has over 20 years’ experience in the insurance industry. He has been a consultant to Helios since June 2015 and joined the Board in April 2016. His role as Finance Director at Helios is part time. He previously worked for Beazley Group plc from 1993 to 2009 as Finance Director and latterly as Company Secretary. He remains Chairman of the Trustees of the Beazley Furlonge Pension Scheme.

Andrew Christie

Non-executive Director

Andrew Christie is a Senior Advisor of corporate finance advisory firm Smith Square Partners LLP and has nearly 30 years’ experience in corporate finance. Prior to Smith Square Partners, he was a managing director in the investment banking division of Credit Suisse Europe and prior to that he was head of investment banking in Asia Pacific for Credit Suisse First Boston and Barclays de Zoete Wedd.

  • Chairman of Committee
  • Audit committee
  • Nomination and remuneration committee

Tom Libassi

Non-executive Director

Tom Libassi is the Co-Founder and Managing Partner of ILS Capital Management, an investment firm specialising in insurance-linked securities, of which funds under management of, or associated with, participated in the Company's recent fundraising. Prior to founding ILS Capital, Mr. Libassi was a Managing Director at Strategic Value Partners as well as holding the position of Chairman at Mach Gen LLC. From 2000 to 2007, Mr. Libassi was a Senior Managing Director at GSC Group where he founded the corporate lending group and served as a senior investment professional. From 1994 to 2000, Mr. Libassi was Senior Vice President and Portfolio Manager at Mitchell Hutchins, a subsidiary of PaineWebber Inc., where he was responsible for managing approximately $1.2 billion of high yield assets for the Paine Webber Mutual Funds. In 1998, Mr. Libassi developed and launched the approximately $550 million Managed High Yield Plus Fund, a leveraged closed-end fund. From 1986 to 1994, Mr. Libassi was a Vice President and Portfolio Manager at Keystone Custodian Funds, Inc., with portfolio management responsibilities for three diverse institutional high yield accounts with $250 million in collective assets. Mr. Libassi received an M.B.A. from the University of Pennsylvania and a B.A. in Economics and Government from Connecticut College.

  • Audit committee
  • Nomination and remuneration committee

Continue reading